Every month a different piece selected from the permanent collection of the museum of the Alhambra is shown.
These doors belonged to a cupboard from the long demolished Casa de los Infantes, also known as the Palace of Cetti Meriem.
This Palace was situated opposite the Ángel Custodio Convent and was constructed at the end of the 14th century or the beginning of the 15th by Muhammad Ibn al-Mawl.
The Palace was demolished in 1901, although some of its decorative features were saved and were deposited at the Archaeological Museum and the Museum of the Alhambra. Initially the doors were bought by a private collector although they were later donated to the Museum of the Alhambra.
They are now on display in Room V of this Museum.
The doors were made with cypress wood and decorated on both sides using the taracea inlay technique. The geometric interlace decoration is different on each side. On the inside they used ivory, bone and tinted wood, which were inlaid into the wooden base.
On the other side there are small pieces of coloured wood and bone although in this case the inlay was glued onto the base.
In our talk we will be focusing above all on the technical aspects of these pieces with which we can appreciate even more the importance of these gems, which fortunately were saved from the looting that took place during the demolition of the Palace.
Time: Saturdays at 12:00
Place: Room V, Museum of the Alhambra, Palace of Charles V